Negative Spaces

I dwell within pauses and memories and negative sounds

 I exist off the heat of empty spaces.

 I tease, and tempt, and threaten to drown you whole.

 My words so sweet but filled with vile things, they bubble in your chest,

They spread wide like demons wings. You praise these works of your imagination, which you call the truth, but really, you only court me, so I can suck the bitterness from your tongue.

I exist, on the edge of what you don’t want to see, and what you’d like to believe.

 I’m the thing that lives in negative spaces.

___________________

©2010 Lori Titus

Leave a Reply

